Applying for re-entry permit without US address

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Applying for re-entry permit without US address

I am a US permanent resident currently residing in HK. I had applied and received an re-entry permit before I left US almost two years ago. I was living in New York at the time. The re-entry permit is expiring in a few months, I understand I need to apply for a new one.

My question is, can I apply for the re-entry permit in Guam as well as get my biometrics done in Guam (closest US territory)? As I no long have a residency in US, can I simply put down a friend's address in Guam on Form I-131? If this is possible, would USCIS schedule the biometric appointment at ASC center near Guam (based on the address I put on Form I-131) or near my old address in New York?

I know there is a Form AR-11 which one can use to notify USCIS about change of address within US. Perhaps I need to file that form to change address from New York to Guam before filing Form I-131?

I have read about other people going to Guam to file the re-entry permit, but end up with biometric appointment scheduled for ASC center near their old or permanent US residency, which then leading to people attempting "walk in"s at Guam ASC center. As "walk in" is at the discretion of the ASC staff, this is a situation I like to avoid.
    Last edited by yorkville101; 04-03-2014, 01:12 AM.

A legitimate address change for a Guam address would allow you to be processed for a Reentry Permit with Biometrics in Guam.

But you do risk a possible query from USCIS when a second Reentry Permit application immediately follows expiration of the first Reentry Permit.

A determination that one has "abandoned" Permanent Resident status can be discretionary by immigration staff at Port of Entry, though an Immigration Court hearing can be allowed, at which time you can defend your need for continued Reentry Permit status.

--Ray B

Originally posted by yorkville101 View Post