Extremely complicated situation to remove my conditional green card

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Extremely complicated situation to remove my conditional green card

I'm a foreign national that got married to an american citizen residing in new jersey. We got married in November 2015 in the states (I was in the states on a K1 visa). I got my conditional green card in April 2016. In June 2016, my wife and i decided to visit turkey. as we were transiting through Heathrow airport, my wife stole my conditional green card (so the green card is with her now) then she left me in turkey and went back to the states without telling me (by the way I can't prove in front of the government that she stole it but i know that she took it). I managed to get into the states thanks to my social security number and fingerprints (my social security number indicates that i am a lawful permanent resident until April 2018). I found out that my wife filed a divorce against me (she accused me of marrying her just to get a green card but i didn't! our marriage wasn't a unreal marriage, in fact, it was a true one at first but then things didn't turn out well between me and her). The question is: how do I remove the conditions on my conditional green card so that i obtain a 10 year green card and become a permanent resident?
    please reply
    many thanks in advance
    Last edited by bk002; 08-23-2016, 03:07 PM.

BK,

You married 9 months ago and got your Green Card 4 months ago. When the divorce is completed, you can apply for a waiver from joint filing for the "Removal of Conditions," or you can wait until 3 months before Aprll 2018 (expiration date for your card to apply for Removal of Conditions.

Frankly, you don't have much to "take to the table" to justify, to USCIS, that the marriage ended through no fault of your own. Do you have police or hospital reports of being mistreated? Do you have proof of counselling attempts?

--Ray B