Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• B1 Visa Denied For Conference

Hey Guys,

Today, my visa application for a B1 visa to the US was refused. The reason given was section 214 (b) of the US Immigration Act. I want your advise on what needs to change in future applications (obviously not this year, but in the 2018). Following is the transcript of my interview:

Q: What's your purpose for visiting the U.S?
    A: To attend the Adobe Max Creative Conference. You can see the letter of invitation Adobe sent me in those documents (my documents were with the interviewer).
    [Interviewer glances at invitation letter]

Q: Where is it held?
    A: Las Vegas

Q: Have you attended conferences like this before?
    A: No.

Q: What's your age?
    A: 25 years

Q: Where are you employed?
    A: I'm a freelance Graphic Programmer. I maintain an account at Upwork.com and also gets clients independently. I have presented my Upwork Certificate of Earning for your information.
    [I point to the certificate of earning. Officer looks at the document and mis-interprets that I'm working for Upwork]

Q: I thought you said you don't work anywhere?
    A: No, I don't. I'm paid as an independent contractor.
    [Officer looks closely and agrees]

Q: You got paid $10,000 last year?
    A: Through Upwork, yes. But I'm getting clients through GitHub and Twitter as well.

Q: How long are you planning to stay in the US?
    A: 5 days. I have attached my hotel booking information and flight information.

Q: Have you traveled to other countries before?
    A: No

Q: This is your first time?
    A: Yes.

Q: Are you married?

Q: Thank you for applying. Your visa application has been rejected and here's a letter detailing the reason
    [hands-over letter with the 214 (b) section]

Obviously marrying is out of the question. But other than that, anything else I can do to convince the officer that I don't plan to stay in the U.S.?