Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tourist visa and getting married In the USA

Trying to get an answer before they consult a lawer:
    The man has a 10yr mutiple entry visa, when he was here, in the states, last yr, he met a women he had no intentions of meeting, and now, he intends to marry her, HOWEVER- He will not be immigrating, and they will leave together, (with her immigrating to HIS country) soon after we(family and friends) see them get married.I do not see any reason for her to file a fiance K-1, for him, since there will be NO IMMIGRATION. Can they do this with no problem?

Also, if they do marry here,(if all plans go well), does his tourist visa expire? Or since he is in no way wanting to immigrate, can he keep that 10 yr tourist visa, and use it for when they ( he and his American wife) come back to visit family and friends? Simpy: can he keep his tourist visa, after they marry?

I don't see why not, but I am not a lawyer, and I came across this website, while doing a search. Nice place, hope someone who knows can answer.

They are both adults in their 40's, his career is very important to him, and he has NO intention of ever immigrating. Seems like it would be easy, but I have no idea.

Yes, they can do this. And the visa does not get cancelled simply by marrying a US citizen. As long he leaves US before the stamped date on his I -94 card, his visa will stay valid.

BUT NOTE THAT;
    * he WILL NOT be able to get another visitor visa, once this one expires.
    * he COULD have difficulty entering on his existing visa, if he discloses to the officer at US entry that he is visiting with a US citizen wife.

Comment

Thanks, Peace,
      You said: "Yes, they can do this. And the visa does not get cancelled simply by marrying a US citizen. As long he leaves US before the stamped date on his I -94 card, his visa will stay valid"

Yeah, I thought so, since he is not immigrating.

"BUT NOTE THAT;