H1B to F1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H1B to F1

Hi I am working on H1B in US currently and would be joining school this fall as student. I have following questions regarding switching Visa from H1 to F1 :

1. Do I need to go back to my home country - India to get Visa Transfer from H1 to F1 ? If yes then how safe is that or if now then is there an alternate way to get F1 stamped ? Canada, Mexico ?

2. What is the normal processing time for F1 visa completion formalities ?

3. Any ideas about the availability of dates for Visa Stamping in India

TIA.

Did you not consider changing status from H1 to F1 while in the US? You can get it stamped in a third country as well. What formalities? Check the VFS page for appointment availability.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

H1B to F1

thanks TX, can you please share the link where I can explore my options. I didnt found anything at Vfs-usa.co.in with respect to 'change in Visa status' .. If I can get the status change while in US only, it would be the best option .

TIA..

Comment

You are looking on the wrong website. Check on immihelp. Also, talk to the school ISO that is issuing your I-20. They can guide you as well on the status change procedure. Here is a link.

These tips can help you find what you are looking for: Check the URL (web address) for proper spelling and completeness; Use our

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Visa Transfer from H1 to F1

Hi ,

My H1 is applied for extension (almost 2 months now) and now I want to go back to school i.e need to get the visa transfer to F1 status. Any idea how much time it may take for the transfer process. My school starts in Aug.

Comment