Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Renewal of H4 Visa

Dear Friend,

I visited US on H4 visa and was there for 5 months and came back to India. My husband's H1 visa got expired on Aug-11-08 and had applied for renewal. I got H4 stamped till Aug-11-2008. As I am in India now, what is the process that I have to follow? What are the documents that I am supposed to produce? Is it necessary for me to go to the consulate for renewal of H4 stamping again? Please help me on the same.

Thanks in advance,
    Lakshmi.

Once your husband's H1b extension goes through, you have to apply for a new visa with his approval notice following the same process as you got your previous H4 visa.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Thanks for your information. If I am in US along with my husband then what is the process? Can he do have a chance of cancelling my H4 without my intention if I am in India?

Thanks in advance,
      Lakshmi.

Comment

You H4 has expired. Where exactly are you, US or India? You'll need documentation from him to apply for new H4. He cannot cancel your visa once issued, exceptions apply.

Comment

Originally posted by LakshmiSDevi
          Thanks for your information. If I am in US along with my husband then what is the process? Can he do have a chance of cancelling my H4 without my intention if I am in India?
          If you are in the US and your husband chose to not renew your H4 I-94 along with his H1b, then you are out of status and illegally present.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Hi,