Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• For Citizenship and Unconditional Green Card, After divorce

Hi ,
    I dont know whether this is the right place to post this topic or not. This is my 1st post though.
    I registered in this forum after googling it out regarding a problem my office coleague is facing. I am completely new to these concepts thus have to ask like a newbie only.

She married a foreigner a year ago.He is a fine and good man but they are not going well as they are finding newer differences between each other regarding personal & professional life.And now they want to divorce as he has found some lady of his nationality and he say she understands him more.This new fiance is a US citizen and ready to marry him.
    But my friend and her husband still love each other a lot and she wants him to become a citizen of USA without any hassle. He has received his 2 yr conditional green card already and working.

In another forum i found this : "Three years after receiving his first (2 year) GC your husband can get citizen - as long as he's still married to you".....

i) So he means after 3 yrs of getting ones conditional green card, one can apply for citizenship or may be a 10 yr conditional green card. Is it true ?
    (I googled it and found that after they are given a 2 yr unconditional green card , they have to remove condition after 2 yrs to get a unconditional 10 yr green card and still then he is permanent resident and not a citizen.)

ii ) They are looking everywhere for good advices for : ideally when can they divorce and he can marry this lady but still can get his 10 yr unconditional green card & finally his citizenship .

iii) will it be safe to divorce before getting the 10 yr unconditional thing ?

I wd appreciate all helps and advices.

Thanks a lot !!