Disclaimer: We take no responsibility for accuracy of information provided. Please use at your own risk. Do not post anything you don't want publicly visible.

Track greencard/visa apps
Immihelp Tracker
Help Others
Share Experiences
Instant Quotes & Purchase
Visitor Medical Insurance
Find
Travel Companion
Download Mobile Apps:   iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch App    Android App

Default F1 student married US Citizen, Status Question

Hello,

I'm a F1 student got married to US Citizen in Feb 2010, I'm graduating in may 2010 and my husband has filed for my green card concurrently (I-485 & I-130) on Apr 15 2010. My question is do i need to apply for my OPt to be in status? The last date to apply for my OPT is april 26th 2010. Please help me as it is sort of URGENT. Modeators please wake up and answer my ques.

Thanks in advance.
    Akhira kawasaki

Default Change of mind!

Once you file for AOS, it means you intend to abandon your F1 status. If you don't do OPT, the whole purpose of your F1 goes in totally different direction. If for some reason your GC is denied, it would be difficult to go back to F1 or do OPT. The best way to do would have been that you first should have graduated applied for you OPT and then after couple of months, later down the road, applied for AOS. This would have helped you to build your marriage up, showing good intentions. I am not sure if your OPT will be approved or not. Check with your international office of your college. Getting married and applying so quickly, especially with F1, for GC, does put you under lot of scrutiny by USCIS. I don't know which university/college you go to, but all universities pretty much have the same rules in regards to OPT. Here is a link from UNH. I hope it might help.
    And please remember, I am not an attorney.
    Last edited by hotelier73; 04-21-2010 at 11:36 AM.

Default F1 student married US Citizen, Status Question#2