Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• F1: DS 160 Form questions

Hi all,
    I am a Kenyan grad student in the process of renewing my F1 visa. I have been in the US for the last six years and I plan to renew my visa in Canada.
    I am having problems answering some questions on the DS-160 form, I would appreciate any input.

1. Home address?
    Should I put my US home address or my Kenyan home address. I haven't been home for more than two years and I will be traveling to Canada for the visa interview.

2. Have you made specific travel plans?
    Again I am in the US and I will be traveling to Canada for the visa interview.

3. Have you ever been in the US?
    I have been in the US for the last six years, I have travelled to Canada about 5 times for weekend trips and I went home to Kenya for 3 weeks 2 years ago. How do I answer this question? Should I list every visit to Canada?

4. Additional Point of Contact Information.
    Should I list contacts in Kenya or the USA. Please note that I have been in the USA for the last 6 years and again I will be traveling to Canada for the interview.

First of all understand that Consulate in Canada may not be able to verify your residency and send you to Kenya anyway. Be prepared for that.

Whenever you leave the US and apply for a Visa, you must answer all questions by putting yourself as outside the US. On F1 student Visa, all your stay in the US is temporary. You must maintain a permanent residence in your home country.

Originally posted by benjyke View Post
    Hi all,
    I am a Kenyan grad student in the process of renewing my F1 visa. I have been in the US for the last six years and I plan to renew my visa in Canada.
    I am having problems answering some questions on the DS-160 form, I would appreciate any input.

1. Home address?
    Should I put my US home address or my Kenyan home address. I haven't been home for more than two years and I will be traveling to Canada for the visa interview.