Disclaimer: We take no responsibility for accuracy of information provided. Please use at your own risk. Do not post anything you don't want publicly visible.

Track greencard/visa apps
Immihelp Tracker
Help Others
Share Experiences
Instant Quotes & Purchase
Visitor Medical Insurance
Find
Travel Companion
Download Mobile Apps:   iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch App    Android App

Default IRS 1722 and Citizenship

Hi,
    I have been a permenant resident since July 2008. early Dec 2010 I travelled to India as I do not have a job here and hence cannot support by rent and bills. In between these dates I never travelled outside the country.

With the help of my family in India I am managing to make 2 trips to US every year for few weeks per trip. I hope to maintain my residency like this.

Come 2013 I wish to file for citizenship. Could you please advice how to accomplish this. What evidence do I need and how to validate my absence from US for 2011 and 2012 for more than 6 months.
    Would I need the IRS1722 letter, how do I get that.
    I did my taxes every year, including this year. But will have no W2 generated for me for 2012. How do I file taxes then. Please advice.

Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by acrm View Post
    Hi,
    I have been a permenant resident since July 2008. early Dec 2010 I travelled to India as I do not have a job here and hence cannot support by rent and bills. In between these dates I never travelled outside the country.

With the help of my family in India I am managing to make 2 trips to US every year for few weeks per trip. I hope to maintain my residency like this.

Come 2013 I wish to file for citizenship. Could you please advice how to accomplish this. What evidence do I need and how to validate my absence from US for 2011 and 2012 for more than 6 months.
    Would I need the IRS1722 letter, how do I get that.