Croatia to Become Newest Member of Schengen Agreement

On Friday, December 9, the existing 26 member states of Schengen Agreement voted unanimously to admit the nation of Croatia into Europe’s massive passport-free travel zone, known as the Schengen area. This means visitors who require a Schengen Visa to visit France, Germany, or any other Schengen member state will now be able to travel to Croatia using that same visa. Furthermore, those who can travel to Schengen nations visa-free for short-term tourism and business purposes will now be able to travel to Croatia without a visa as well.

Croatia is set to become a full member of the Schengen Agreement on January 1, 2023, after which it will end all border restrictions with other Schengen countries, including its land border neighbors of Slovenia and Hungary, both of which became Schengen member states in 2003.

Alongside its newfound inclusion in the so-called “Schengen zone,” Croatia will be transitioning from its national currency – the kuna – to the euro when full membership takes effect on January 1. This will make it easier for travelers visiting Croatia from other European nations, as they will no longer have to worry about currency conversion or exchange rates.

Croatia joined the European Union in 2013, and has long been petitioning to join the Schengen Agreement. Their admittance makes them the first new Schengen member state since Liechtenstein joined in 2008, and expands the travel zone to 27 nations.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

All Replies ({{allReplies}}) Be the first to comment on this post.

Visit or call +1 (866) INSUBUY or +1 (972) 985-4400