USCIS Asylum Offices
USCIS has eight (8) Asylum Offices within the United States. The mission of the U.S. Asylum Program is to implement asylum laws in a way that is fair, timely, and consistent with international humanitarian principles and our domestic tradition of providing refuge for the oppressed. After you have filed an asylum application with the appropriate Service Center, the USCIS will notify you of the Asylum Office serving your area.

(Form I-589) are also filed at Service Centers. Do not mail an initial asylum application to an Asylum Office. However, as the List demonstrates, asylum applications are not always filed at the same Service Center that accepts other applications from residents of that area. Therefore, prospective asylum applicants should check the List to determine with which Service Center they should file their asylum application. After your asylum application has been received, you will be notified where to go for your asylum interview.

  • Arlington
    Jurisdiction: Alabama, District of Columbia, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, Pennsylvania (Pittsburgh), South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia

  • Chicago
    Jurisdiction: Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin

  • Houston
    Jurisdiction: Arkansas, Colorado, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Wyoming

  • Miami
    Jurisdiction: Florida, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

  • Newark
    Jurisdiction: Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York (Albany, Buffalo, Manhanttan, Bronx), Pennsylvania (excluding Pittsburgh), Rhode Island, Vermont

  • New York City
    Jurisdiction: State of New York excluding the jurisdiction of the Albany sub office, the Buffalo district office, and the boroughs of Manhattan and the Bronx

  • Los Angeles
    Jurisdiction: Arizona, Southern California, Guam, Hawaii, Nevada (Las Vegas)

  • San Francisco
    Jurisdiction: Alaska, Northern California, Nevada (Reno), Oregon, Washington