power of attorney

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• power of attorney

My wife and I need to sign a power of attroney so I can get the property which is in our joint names registered during my trip to India. My wife cannot travel with me but she is the co-owner. The builder in India tells me I need to get a Power of Attorney signed in the Indian consulate in SF. I have written to them but they are not returning my queries.

Anyone knows how to get a Power of Attorney done in USA (SF in particular) which will be acceptable in India for property registration?

Yes, SF consulate does attest Power of attorney documents. You need to submit the forms and I believe it was $20 in the past when I got it done.

You need the photo of the person granting the POA. Yes, the POA is acceptable in India for registration. Many Indian states have some other form that they need in addition to the POA. Check with your buider on the requirements of the state in India.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Thanks txh1b. The site says before I submit, I need to get my original document "Apostilled". And looking at the process for getting it "Apostilled", it seems its going to a long drawn process - contact the Government Office in India etc..Is this really true even if my wife needs to grant me the PoA and both of us can be present in the consulate when we submit for attestation? Thanks for your help txh1b

Comment

I just had the usual notary signature and it worked.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Originally posted by txh1b View Post
          I just had the usual notary signature and it worked.
          Ok, that makes sense. Just so I am clear, what youa re suggesting is as follows: