Have you purchased house in India?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Have you purchased house in India?

Have you purchase house or real estate in India?

If so, what was the purpose? To stay, or for investment? Or investment for now and to stay later when returning back to India?
    Immihelp Support
    No legal advice. Use at your own risk.

Visa and Greencard Tracker

Visitor Medical Insurance for your visiting relatives.

No because it is no longer affordable to NRIs

10 years ago, I was thinking let me settle down.
    5 years ago, I was thinking the values were ridiculous.
    2 years ago, they were costing an arm and a leg.
    Now, I just don't care!

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Yes, brought a house in India. I disagree with txh1b that houses in India are unaffordable for NRIs. You can easily get a plot of land for $25,000 in India (in tier III cities). Instead of buying that brand new Lexus suv, you can get a used Accord and buy that plot of land in India as an investment.
      Last edited by DrPepper; 11-24-2008, 07:49 AM.

Comment

And how much does it take to build a house on that plot that you purchased for $25,000 in a tier III city? Would you be able to work in a tier III city in some career that you want to?

Yes, I try to use the money I make here on the economy of this country.

With the downward trend in property values in India now, I might be able to afford it in the next few years. I am a poor immigrant still trying to settle down and dream about a 6 figure income

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Originally posted by txh1b