Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Applying for F1 Visa while (possibly) being a drug addict

Hello everyone.

So I am an international student on OPT and I need to renew my Visa in my home country (currently in the US).

When filling up the DS-160 form I answered the question "Are you or have you ever been a drug abuser or addict?" with yes and explained.

Before my interview, I discovered my Visa could be rejected for answering "yes" to this question and so I canceled my appointment.

I am currently in the US and wondering what is my best course of action. My therapist says that I qualify as being "in remission" by the DSM so I could potentially get an exception but I am scared.

Is it a good strategy to just fill up another DS-160 and answer "no" to this question? I wonder if the other DS-160 will be looked at since I canceled the interview.

Or should I just answer "yes" and try to argue for my case? I currently have a job and I am afraid that this process might take too long and I might lose my job because of it.

Thank you for any advice.

I don't have personal experience in this area, so I'll have to go by whatever I've read about this topic. I think there are two angles to look at this from:
    - Inadmissibility based on public health grounds. As far as I know, ongoing drug addiction can make you inadmissible as a danger to public health. Fortunately, your addiction is in remission so a letter from your therapist will probably get you covered.