Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Green card for Postdocs

Hi,

Currently, I am working as a Postdoc in the USA in the area of computer science. I did my education in (till PhD) in Germany. I have 12 publications and two patents. What are my greencard chances (within EB1 and EB2 categories)?

Well, that depends.

Firstly: Would it be a self petition or would your employer petition? There are different requirements for those

Secondly, if you self petition you would have to prove under the EB1A category that you are among the top 2% or so in your field. For the Eb2NIW category you would have to argue that it is of a national interest for the US to keep you here.

There are no specific cut offs for number of publications etc. What it boils down to is that you prove that you fall in these categories based on the impact you have made in your field.

The information you have provided so far is not enough to make a guess as to your chances

To get you started I'll post the requirements for both categories, you can then see/post how those pertain to you. based on that it will be clearer what your chances are

EB1AThe EB1-Extraordinary Ability immigration category is reserved for those at the top of their field who have a record of sustained national or international acclaim.
    You must meet at least three (3) of the criteria. Note that in order to claim a criterion each would have to prove 10being at the top of your field and 2) sustained acclaim. Claiming something that every other scientist does does not qualify you.

1) "Documentation of the alien's receipt of lesser nationally or internationally recognized prizes or awards for excellence in the field of endeavor."
    2) "Documentation of the alien's membership in associations in the field for which classification is sought, which require outstanding achievements of their members, as judged by recognized national or international experts in their disciplines or fields."