Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suggestions for the Quickest Path to International Travel

Hi everybody,

I'm from Turkey and I did a PhD in mechanical engineering in the US using the F1 visa. After completing my PhD, I got a job at a company in Connecticut, luckily won the H1B (change of status) in the lottery and have been working using the H1B visa since October 2020. My first three years of H1B ends in September 2023 and my boss is telling me that renewing it for another 3 years is a very simple process for them.

My main concern is that I haven't been to Turkey since I started working and I want to take some time off for a vacation. However if I go to Turkey, I have to attend an appointment at the US Consulate in Istanbul to get the H1B visa stamp. During my PhD, I had applied for and received the F1 visa twice, in 2013 and 2018. In both cases, I had to go through the administrative processing (AP) and left the consulate with the yellow paper. Luckily, the AP took about 10 days in both cases. Now I fear that I might have to go through AP again when I visit the US Consulate in Istanbul for an H1B visa this time and I can't help thinking ' What if the AP takes months this time and my company doesn't want to wait for me anymore and they terminate my employment?' My first question would be about this option. Would you agree with me that this is a risky path that could cost me my job in the US? Or would you say that this time it is different because I have already been working in the US using the H1B visa and the consulate will just provide a hard copy confirmation of what exists in the electronic records. I might be talking nonsense but just trying to be optimistic as you might imagine..