esta, border control, denied entry

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• esta, border control, denied entry

I am a student and I would like to spend my summer holiday (3 months) in the USA with my friends, in Wisconsin, as a tourist. Last year I was at the same location with a J1 visa. I am going to apply for an ESTA this year.

Might the fact that I will stay the maximum 90-day period be a problem for the immigration officer taking in consideration that I will have just about 1000$ cash at arrival? My parents will send me money every week or two weeks, so I won't be able to prove that I have sufficient funds for my whole stay.. I mean he might think that I intend to work illegally..

Another option would be to tell the border agent that I will stay less (just 1 or 2 weeks for example) and buy a flexible return flight ticket and then change its date after i arrived in Wisconsin. Can he/she shorten the 90 day ESTA period and allow me for just 1 or 2 weeks in if I lie?

I need to get in guys, what should I do? Thank you for your help!

Originally posted by fflmac View Post
    I am a student and I would like to spend my summer holiday (3 months) in the USA with my friends, in Wisconsin, as a tourist. Last year I was at the same location with a J1 visa. I am going to apply for an ESTA this year.

Might the fact that I will stay the maximum 90-day period be a problem for the immigration officer taking in consideration that I will have just about 1000$ cash at arrival? My parents will send me money every week or two weeks, so I won't be able to prove that I have sufficient funds for my whole stay.. I mean he might think that I intend to work illegally..

Another option would be to tell the border agent that I will stay less (just 1 or 2 weeks for example) and buy a flexible return flight ticket and then change its date after i arrived in Wisconsin. Can he/she shorten the 90 day ESTA period and allow me for just 1 or 2 weeks in if I lie?