Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• National interest waiver

Hello,
    I am currently a post-doctoral researcher in Canada, did PhD study in Germany, and would like to apply for NIW. I checked the requirements and think that I would qualify for that.
    Can you please help me with the following questions:
    - do you think it is realistic to do this application by myself or it is important to have a lawyer? Why I am asking it seems to be very costly.
    - how long it would take and what would be the price?
    - can you please put relevant link here? I see a plenty of info in the net, not sure which one is the best.

Thanks

Originally posted by niko888 View Post
    Hello,
    I am currently a post-doctoral researcher in Canada, did PhD study in Germany, and would like to apply for NIW. I checked the requirements and think that I would qualify for that.
    Can you please help me with the following questions:
    - do you think it is realistic to do this application by myself or it is important to have a lawyer? Why I am asking it seems to be very costly.
    - how long it would take and what would be the price?
    - can you please put relevant link here? I see a plenty of info in the net, not sure which one is the best.

Thanks
    Hello,

1) It is realistic to accumulate the documents (diploma, transcript, publications, etc) and draft the recommendation letters. It is also possible to write the supporting letter for NIW but lawyers have loads of experience with it. Yes, it is very costly for what they do but you may not want to take a chance.
    2) It takes about 3 weeks once the documents are ready. The timing is really on you. You should be able to find lawyers that ask 5k for i140's. The i485's are easier and could be done by yourself when time will come.