PAN Card in India (for NRIs in US)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PAN Card in India (for NRIs in US)

I am an NRI resident in the US. I have some land and house in India. To buy or sell land, and to operate bank/credit-card account in India, and to buy/sell stocks in India (including DEMAT), they ask for the PAN Card (personal account number).

What are the implications of applying for PAN in India?

If I apply for and get a PAN card, am I required to file income taxes in India (in addition to the US)?

Easy

Easy, you apply for a PAN card on-line, pay on-line with a credit card and mail the documents to them.

There is no implication of any kind and you're not obligated to pay any taxes unless you have taxable income in India.

It will be in your benefit to have your PAN card.

Also, if you do pay any taxes in India and show that income in US, then you don't have to pay those taxes again. India and US have a treaty that avoids you paying double taxes.

Good luck.

Comment

Originally posted by knowledgeable
      Easy, you apply for a PAN card on-line, pay on-line with a credit card and mail the documents to them.

There is no implication of any kind and you're not obligated to pay any taxes unless you have taxable income in India.

It will be in your benefit to have your PAN card.

Also, if you do pay any taxes in India and show that income in US, then you don't have to pay those taxes again. India and US have a treaty that avoids you paying double taxes.

Good luck.
      Thanks, Knowledgeable!

My brother is a US Citizen (of Indian origin). He has some outstanding shares/stocks in firms he bought when he was in India some years back. To DEMAT them, they are asking for PAN.

Can US citizen (of Indian origin) apply for PAN?

Is it for a US citizen (a former Indian citizen) legal to continue holding shares in India?

Thank you.

Comment

Yes, if he has an OCI card ...