PERM and promotion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PERM and promotion

My friend's company has applied for his LC. He is due for his promotion. Now the company HR is trying to verify from company atty that if it is OK to give him the promotion. Everything remains the same, my friend will just become Sr.Software Engineer. He is currently Software Engineer and PERM was applied for Software Engineer position. Does he have to remain in the same title for the whole GC process?

Thanks.

Title is of little importance but the job duties and responsibilities have to remain the same. Many companies do not like the hassle of dealing with queries/RFEs during the I140 stage and hence don't prefer to give the promotion.

One work around this is as the GC is for future employment, the person can get a job title demotion after the GC gets approved and stay in that position for 6 months and work as a Software Engineer.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Sorry, I am a little confused. Can he get a promotion after the company files for his I-140 (FYI, the PERM is in process)?

Just a thought, with current situation GC process takes almost 4-7 years. I am curious as to if USCIS wants a person and position to be static for that long (I mean no promotion - forget position change)? Are there no laws where a growth can be taken into account?

TIA
      Last edited by Curious2008; 06-14-2008, 04:24 PM.

Comment

Bo changes allowed as per the law. The position that is certified as available by labor department as no US persons available is the only one that qualifies for the GC.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Thanks again.