Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 7th Year Ext Issue -PERM and I-140 from EX- company

My H1-B is expiring in November 2009.

My current company has agreed to file for my GC. However, the rate they are going at, I am very sure I will miss my November 2008 date for 365 day rule for 7th year extension. What happens if they delay and apply at later date?

FYI, my ex-company had applied for my PERM and I-140 (both approved). Can I use that to get 7th year extension for my H1-B with my current company.

Please help, I am distressed about my situation.

TIA.

Originally posted by Curious2008
    FYI, my ex-company had applied for my PERM and I-140 (both approved). Can I use that to get 7th year extension for my H1-B with my current company.

Please help, I am distressed about my situation.

TIA.
    The stars are on your side. Yes, that can be used for your current H1b extension.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Wow!!! that's a great news. Some relief

Thanks for your response txh1B.

When my current company files for my 7th year extension, does my GC from current company needs to be in process?? I mean should they have applied for my PERM and so on?

And when my current company files for my GC can they use the Priority Date from my PERM that was filed by my ex-company ?

Thanks.

Comment

No need for GC from current company for externsion. Yes, you can retain the old PD.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Thanks again. How many extensions can we get like that?

Comment

Thanks again. How many extensions can we get like that?
            only till your PD is not current after which you will be given 1 yr extension only and need to apply for a 485.

Comment