OPT F1 Students June 2018 Filers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OPT F1 Students June 2018 Filers

Ok, so I'm a recently graduated student in Texas, (graduated in May). I applied for the Post opt I-765 around the middle of May and sent the documents at the beginning of June, they arrived at the Potomac Service center on June 4th . What I hate is that before I did the application, I was told to apply to jobs while my work permit was getting approved, because It would take around 1 to 2 months, 3 months on worst case. After sending my application I started looking for jobs and I got a good offer at a TV station (KRGV TV) and I told them what I was told about the waiting time, so they said I couldn't start working I didn't have my work permit yet, but they could hold the position for me till August (the 2 months mark since I sent my application). Well recently I learned that the waiting time on the Potomac center changed now the waiting time is 3 to 5 months. Needless to say I lost my job offer and now cant apply to another one until I receive the permit and also lease ended, right now Im staying in a long stay hotel because I need to know where I will be working so I can get a place around the area, I thought about going back to Mexico while the process is still going but pretty much everyone is advising me not to because it could affect my chances on getting approved. This sucks I feel extremely useless. Anyone out there going thru something similar or want to share a story?