Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• INA 212 ( d) (3)(a) i non-immigrant waiver

Hello,
    In the year 2001, I was charged with fraud/misrepresentation and issued an order of
    expedited removal. i have explained my case below.

I was issued an H1B visa in February 2000 and thereafter
    entered the U.S. on March 2, 2000. This was my first U.S. visa and first
    entry into the country. My H1B was issued following a petition filed on
    my behalf by Cel Systems. I worked as an IT consultant for Cel
    until March 2001 when my assignment ended. At that time, Cel did not
    have another assignment for me. In April 2001, Cell found me a new
    assignment, however, this fell through. I then began looking for
    different jobs and was offered a position with Global Software in New Jersey in
    May 2001. Global informed me that they had filed a new H1B petition on my
    behalf. Under this belief, I remained in the U.S. waiting for the
    petition to be approved.

I departed the U.S. in September 2001 and traveled to India
    to visit my mother who was unwell. I attempted to return to the U.S. on
    October 24, 2001 at the Dallas airport with the H1B obtained through Cel Systems,
    as it was valid until October 2002. Although I had no intention to return to work for Cel Systems, I
    believed that I could use the valid visa to return to the U.S. so long as I did
    not begin working until my new H1B petition with Global was approved. I realize now how misguided I was.

At the port of entry, I learned that Global had not filed an
    H1B petition on my behalf. Since I tried
    to enter the U.S. with an H1B after my employment ended with the sponsoring
    company, I was charged with fraud/misrepresentation and issued an order of
    expedited removal. I was young and immature and should have researched the visa
    rules and requirements before attempting to return to the U.S. Looking back, this is one of the biggest