B1/B2 success story on third attempt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• B1/B2 success story on third attempt

I want to share my slightly unusual B1/B2 visa attempt story with you all, because maybe it can be a good advice for other people:

I work as a crew on private yachts, and last year I tried to get this visa at the embassy in Oslo, Norway. ( I am a Norwegian) Since I didn't have any confirmation letter or contract to show from a boat I was on, and I said I needed the visa to be able to apply for jobs where this visa is needed (what a stupid thing to say!) they refused me immediately, 214b.

Then I tried again in Oslo this year (in the end of October). This time I was employed on a boat, where I had been working for 5 months, and I had a confirmation letter from the captain, that said the boat was going to the US, and I had a permanent contract. But this documentation was not good enough for the consular officer, he said this contract didn't look very secure, that they could fire me with 30 days notice and that I could start look for work in the US... He asked me about last years refusal, and I was stupid again and said that I had applied for the visa back then to be able to apply for jobs on boats. (I wasn't going to the US to apply, but I think the consular officer thought so). So he refused me my visa for the second time. This time I was really shocked and devastated, because I had expected to get the visa without any problems.

The next ten days I was really depressed, because without the visa I could not continue my job on the boat that was going to the US... so I was actually jobless. But after a little bit of research, and after advise from some people also within the same industry as myself, I decided to go to Italy to apply there, for the third time.