Mixed Insurance Banners Health Insurance for Visitors to USA

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DS 160 and B1 Visa: Main ocupation and education (3rd country national)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DS 160 and B1 Visa: Main ocupation and education (3rd country national)

Hello,

I am a Brazilian PhD student currently in the UK doing an academic visit/research internship at an UK university with funding from a Brazilian research agency (ie. I am not a student nor an employee of the university in the UK, I am here under Tier 5 - GAE visa, if that matters).

I need the B1 visa to attend a conference in the US and, as I will have to apply in the UK as third country national, I have two questions regarding the DS 160 form:

1) What would be the best option to fill in Present Main Occupation:
    a) PhD Student at my home university in Brazil (I have a letter as proof of enrolment).
    b) Academic Visitor at my host university in the UK (I have letters with proof of visit, agreement and funding).

2) Regarding education, the form asks to fill in information from secondary level (high school). I have the details, however I did not bring my high school certificate to the UK, only my BSc diploma (with a sworn translation to English). Should I fill the high school information even if I cannot produce a proof of of it to the interviewer?

Thank you in advance.

Originally posted by r_researcher View Post
    1) What would be the best option to fill in Present Main Occupation:
    a) PhD Student at my home university in Brazil (I have a letter as proof of enrolment).
    b) Academic Visitor at my host university in the UK (I have letters with proof of visit, agreement and funding).
    Are you on a short visit to UK (<3 months) or more that that?
    - If short visit, better to go back to your home country, get the visa from there & show occupation as PhD student.