Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H1B Stamping Rejected in Ottawa 221(g) issued asking for I-140

Hi All,

I am a dentist in the USA and went to the US Consulate today for visa stamping. The VO issued me a yellow 221g my visa saying that I have been working for more than 6 years on H1 visa and she needs an approved I-140 from my employer. She just didn't let me explain.

The fact is that I did start working in August 2012, but was on OPT till September 2013. I started working on H1B from Oct 2013. I took a six months maternity leave in 2014. My current I-797 shows validity till June 2020. My employer is in the process of filing the PERM. I don't have an approved I-140 yet. My employer's attorney is sending the consulate a summary of the dates I have stayed on H1 visa to show that I haven't used up six years.

I am stuck here in Ottawa thinking about how much time would it take to get a visa and wondering about my options. If anyone has been through similar situation and could offer perspective, I would appreciate.

Thanks,
    Dr. Anmol Agrawal

Originally posted by anmolwrites View Post
    Hi All,

I am a dentist in the USA and went to the US Consulate today for visa stamping. The VO issued me a yellow 221g my visa saying that I have been working for more than 6 years on H1 visa and she needs an approved I-140 from my employer. She just didn't let me explain.

The fact is that I did start working in August 2012, but was on OPT till September 2013. I started working on H1B from Oct 2013. I took a six months maternity leave in 2014. My current I-797 shows validity till June 2020. My employer is in the process of filing the PERM. I don't have an approved I-140 yet. My employer's attorney is sending the consulate a summary of the dates I have stayed on H1 visa to show that I haven't used up six years.