Currently OPT, H1 approved. Urgent H1 transfer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Currently OPT, H1 approved. Urgent H1 transfer

I applied for H1(premium processing) this April and just checked my reciept number at USCIS, it is approved. I am currently on OPT and work for employer 'A' with whom my H1 is tied to. I was offerred a better job in a reputed company(client location) and they are willing to transfer my H1. They want to transfer immediately. Is that possible or do i need to wait until Oct1?

Your help is appreciated!

hi ...Congrats ! for getting H1B for 2009 : i applied for H1B in General Quota so do you have any idea when we guys recive Receipts for general pocessing ..Thanks in advance......

Regards.
    Vamsi

Comment

Need not wait. You can ask them to do it now. You need the petition approval copy or a receipt number.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

spoke to USCIS rep. abt h1 transfer

Thanks all for your prompt reply. I spoke to USCIS abt the H1 transfer before Oct1 and he mentioned that I shud wait until Oct 1st to get transferred. The reason he said is that if my empoyer file a transfer petition for me, It would be considered as a new application as transfer can only be done if i am on H1 status. I can only be on H1 status after Oct1.

Please help me if thats wrong.

Comment

Originally posted by tadi18
          Thanks all for your prompt reply. I spoke to USCIS abt the H1 transfer before Oct1 and he mentioned that I shud wait until Oct 1st to get transferred. The reason he said is that if my empoyer file a transfer petition for me, It would be considered as a new application as transfer can only be done if i am on H1 status. I can only be on H1 status after Oct1.

Please help me if thats wrong.