Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• txh1b,DMX17 and senior members ...plz help...query reg L1-H1 COS

Hi Immihelp,

I am currently working on L1 and my visa is valid till 2009...
    I applied for H1b and got my COS approved and effective from oct 2008...

Now the situation is my L1 employer tenure is over and I
    am asked to go back to INDIA by this month (June end)....

so now what is the possibility of holding the COS valid legally , in my scenario....

I have seen lot of posts about this , but I don't think this scenario is
    discussed anywhere....(sorry If I missed any posts of same....

Thanks a lot....

somewhat similar..please go here

I am not a lawyer and this is not a legal advice. Use it at your own risk. Consult professionals before getting into an action.

Comment

Thanks ITZprams.... for your quick reply....
      Actually in my case my employer said my H1b COS is approved
      and I can start work from Oct-2008...

so is it going to be any difference ???

Also , is it possible to apply for COS from INDIA...(since my L1 is valid till 2009)??
      And if I do that , what will be the stamping process for the same ???

Can you please clarify ...

Thanks

Comment

If you go to India, you will not be able to re-enter the country on L1 unless your L1 employer has an opening for you and is sending you back. If he did and you returned and work for him until Oct. 1 and really had been issued an I-94 for H1B your H1B should be effective.

However, you may not enter the country on your L1 if you do not intend to work for that employer immediately following your entry. Since it appears that you will be in India, a COS does not apply in your case since you must be in status to do a change.

Therefore, you should get your H1B stamping and enter on that status. The only advantage to a COS is if you are already working in the country, then you do not have to leave for stamping.