Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Before joining new company on H1 ....

Hello,

I'm totally new to the US and H1. I'll be joining the new H1 employer on Oct 01.
    Could you tell me what should I be looking at about benefits , contracts and legal issues before joining this new employer.

Thanks.

Newbee to US

I'm totally new to the US and H1. I'll be joining the new H1 employer on Oct 01.
    Could you tell me what should I be looking at about benefits , contracts and legal issues before joining this new employer.

---- BENEFITS -- You should be entitled to medicaal insurance and the payment terms differ from employer to employer and the insurance company with which they have agreements with. Alternatively , you should be able to get your own medical insurance and the rates differ. In all instances you should have medical insurance while you are in the US

---- CONTRACTS -- As such you snouls not be signing any contracts except acceptance of your employment offer letter and tax forms. All other contracts are between you and the employer. In the US , your employment is at free will meaning that you or the employer can terminate the employment at any point of time without any pre-conditions. Otherwise the employer cannot hold you for any contract

----LEGAL ISSUES --- Each State in the US has employee rights and you should able to browse through the state's website and many times the rights are posted physcially on the company premises

---- Other than these issues, it is your personal contact with your employer. Remember that the employee cannot pay for H1 and its renewal as it becomes illegal and at the same time employer cannot demand that you pay for the fees. You can browse through the immihelp website and other forums for more information

Subramanya.

Comment