Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• L1B to H1B Transfer

Hi All

I applied for H1b Visa thru a consultant and he filed as COS with USCIS and it is still in PENDING state , however my consultant says it will be approved in Coule of weeks. Meantime i heard once it approved by USCIS then my status will be changed to H1B after Oct 1st. But i dont want to change imdly and i want to stick with my old employer for another 6 months. I went thru the forum and knew about the leapfrog. Now i have the following questions. As i have Zero leve knowledge about these could anyone reply for my questions please.

1. Wht is Leapfrog and how it works. As long as i know that i have to leave before oct 1 st from US and submit my I-94 (both L1 & H1) at POE and return again after oct 1st and get a new i-94 card for L1. is it right?

2. wht questions they ask in POE while returing back to US?

3. If i reenter thru L1 then wht abt my H1 petition, will that be valid or not?

4. if it is valid then wht is the procedure to change from L1 to H1 after 6 months. Also if i go for vacation in this 6 months period then while coming back to US ,whether i can retain my L1 again or not?

pls someone help..thx so much

please someone reply

Read all the leapfrog threads and you will learn a lot more.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

i went through all the threads...but still having little confusion can you confirm and reply to my questions pls..i have only zero knowledge on this..please reply..thanks so much

Comment

1. Can't explain it any better than previous threads. Leaving before Oct 1st and returning after 1st is the basic thing.

2. Nothing special. The usual stuff related to the visa you are entering on.

3. It will be valid but to work on H1, you either need a stamp and return on H1 or have the employer file an amendment to COS.