Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H1 Stamping and advance parole

To all the Immihelp Forum veterans,
    I have been in the USA on H1-B for over 8 years now. My H1-stamp expired in 2004, but have my 797 valid upto June of 2009.
    I am planing to visit India in December and would ceratinly have to get the visa stamp.
    If I do not get the visa stamp for some reason and come back on Advance Parole, what is my status. Am I eligible to apply for new H1 or H1 extension?
    Even though my EAD is valid for another 2 years, what if I don't get my GC by the time my EAD expires?

Any help is highly appreciated.

Thanks!

You can get back on H1b when H1b is nearing it's end, if it gets extended. If you continue on EAD and do not get a GC, apply for a renewal.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

I ma not sure if I understand

txH1B,
      Thanks for your immediate response. I am not sure if I understand though.

Since my visa(stamp) has already expired and only thing I have is valid 797, if I come back on AP and continue to use EAD, wouldn't I be out of status if I don't get my GC by the time my EAD expires? Can I still apply for new visa or extension then?

Thanks Again!

Comment

EAD does not give one status. EAD is valid for employment only. You need to spend more time understanding what a parolee is. Until the GC is denied, one could apply for EAD extension and parole and is considered to be in "Autorized stay" period.

Parolee is typically an authorized period of stay but NOT a status.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment