X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exstension of expired H1B and clock reset

1. My H1B got expired on 30 May 2009
    2. I returned to India on Jan 2009
    3. I have not fully used my 6 years stay, still left with 20 months.

Now my employer wants to do extension of my H1B in Oct 2009 and I am planning to go US after Jan 2010.

considering these facts, what will be the period I will be getting for my extended h1 B.

Also as I am re entering US after one year , is H1 clock reset and will I be allowed to get fresh 6 years?

Please advice me on this..

Thanks
    kiran

If you have remained outside US, your employer can apply for a fresh H1b and that will give you a new 6 year term.

If they choose to use the remainder option (read FAQs), you can only use whatever is left from your previous H1b petition.

It is a matter of how the petition is filed that determines the period of stay.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Thanks a lot for the replay.

I have one more question.

Is it possible to claim 6 years, with out applying new H1B petition and by extending the existing H1B petition after 365 days ( 1 year away from US )?

Comment

Extension of H1b is nothing but a new H1b. I don't see a difference. If you enclose proof of valid remainder period, it will get extended for only 1 year.

A new H1b and an extension are same in all aspects except for some check marks on the I129 form. If you need a 6 year, it has to be a new H1b with the correct check marks on the form.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

I agree with you on that.

But I think H1b extention does not come under CAP. extension can be filed any time in the year.

Where as New H1B filing fall under CAP. (Please correct me if i am wrong)