overtsayed visa waiver 10yrs married to us citizen

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• overtsayed visa waiver 10yrs married to us citizen

I came to the u.s in 2000 on a visa waiver from germany its been 10 yrs now and I havent left the u.s I'm 22 years old married to a U.S citizen
    we filled out all the papers for the USICS for adjustment of status thru u.s citizen but right before my attorney was going to send it out he just warned us that there has been cases where visa waiver overstays have been getting denied. I dont know if i should go thru with this or just wait till that part of law changes?
    I graduated school here and have a clean record and have been with my spouse 4 years now, I wondering if that would help get my case approved,

Please let me know if you or someone you know is going thru this or has gone thru this.

Thank you!!!

Originally posted by Lisa011 View Post
    I came to the u.s in 2000 on a visa waiver from germany its been 10 yrs now and I havent left the u.s I'm 22 years old married to a U.S citizen
    we filled out all the papers for the USICS for adjustment of status thru u.s citizen but right before my attorney was going to send it out he just warned us that there has been cases where visa waiver overstays have been getting denied. I dont know if i should go thru with this or just wait till that part of law changes?
    I graduated school here and have a clean record and have been with my spouse 4 years now, I wondering if that would help get my case approved,

Please let me know if you or someone you know is going thru this or has gone thru this.

Thank you!!!

Well from what I can gather, 2 things are in your favour.

1- You arrived in the USA when you were 12 (with parents I presume)

2 -You have been married for 4 years (6 years after you entered)

People who arrive on VWP and marry within a 90 day period can raise red flags due to the USCIS thinking marriage fraud is involved (but not in all cases)