Student unpaid medical Bills

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Student unpaid medical Bills

I am an international student and took insurance from an Indian Company that covered me for $50000 for medical treatment. I had to undergo a surgery for that the hospital billed me for more than $550000. My insurance company has settled about 40% of the bill (after negotiation, that is they paid $50000 against clicker test settlement of more than $200000. I have received a bill from hospital for balance $350000 and I don't know how to pay this as I do not have resources. The facts are summarized below:
    1) I am an international student staying off campus;
    2) I am getting the bills / reminders / notices by post;
    3) I do not have SSN;
    4) I have no source of income;
    5) I have one more year to go before I complete my college.
    I would like to know how to deal with them so that in future if I continue to study / work in USA I keep on getting medical treatment and I am able to obtain fresh VISA and can enter USA without any problem.
    Last edited by lurapowlo1987; 05-21-2020, 11:30 AM. Reason: spelling

Sorry about your situation but a lot of cheaper / international insurances have such limitations. That's why it's best to buy insurance sponsored by the University.
    That being said, what usually happens after a claim is that the insurance uses the pre-negotiated rate (in network / out of network) to determine the final cost (so a $100K surgery could be discounted to $50,000). Then you are responsible for the deductible and outof pocket, while the insurance covers the rest (example: you pay $7,000 and insurance pays the remaining $43,000). Hospitals cannot come after you for the difference (original - discounted cost).