Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• L-1 to H-1 Transfer without working for employer who filed H-1

Hi all,
    I am currently working on L-1 visa with company A.
    Company B filed for H-1B which got selected in the lottery and should get approved.
    I want to work for company C without working for company B after Oct1 2008

I am aware that I need to get L1 - H1 Change of status to work for any employer but can I transfer approved H1 petition to another company C without working for company B who filed it?
    Also, will it have any downstream effect when I file Green Card?

It is possible to transfer now after the H1b gets approved before your H1 status kicks in. These threads deal with the same/similar issues. Look around the forum.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Thanks txh1b - Those links were helpful
      But what if I want to start later or I do not get to start with Company C till Nov end.?
      Rephrasing the question for better clarity:

I am currently working on L-1 visa with company A.
      Company B filed for H-1B which got selected in the lottery and should get approved.
      I want to work for company C without working for company B after Dec 1 2008.

Assuming I do not get I-94 in the H-1 approval notice (i.e. no COS but only H-1 approval)

I am aware that I need to get L1 - H1 Change of status to work for any employer but can I transfer approved H1 petition to another company C without working for company B who filed it? (using the paystubs of company A) Also, will it have any downstream effect when I file Green Card?
      Appreciate your response.

Comment

If you continue to maintain other status like L1 (provided H1b was not a COS), you need not work for company B and get the H1b transferred to Company C.