Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Health insurance & driver license while I-485 pending

Hi everyone,

I was an international student under F-1 visa, then OPT. My OPT (EAD) was ended in May thus forced my driver license expired the same time. My PD is May 27, 19. I have three questions:

1. Driver license: I came to renew my DL at local DMV, they did it and gave me a temporary DL up to Oct. However, my auto insurance could not find my DL valid. I have emailed DMV
    and they said that due to my legal status is still pending...Does that make sense as the local DMV officer already renewed my DL and issued my the temporary one and said wait to 3 weeks to get the official DL in the mail... Anyway, because my auto insurance canceled my policy, I think I am not allowed to drive although I have temporary license right?

2. My former school told me that I am required to buy health insurance although I have finished school and my OPT already. They said technically I am still under F1 visa till my pending status is approved...Thus, I am required to get health insurance by law, and I can continue purchasing health insurance from school insurance provider just like an international student under F1 visa. Is that true? Has any one experienced yet?

3. My PD is 5/27/19 for i485 & i130, and 6/11/19 for i131 & i765. I did the biometrics 6/28/19. I am from California. Do you know how long it would take to get EAD and travel parole?

Thank you so much for your help. Sorry I have done the application on my own so I am still learning.

Hi,

Our cases are pretty much identical! I am in Florida.I was an F-1 and my OPT expired in May, my license also expired in May. My PD is May 31st, 2019.