Employment based Green Card Application (CT). Fired right before Interview

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Employment based Green Card Application (CT). Fired right before Interview

I found it difficult to find information about EB2/3 based green card application and the procedure of rescheduling the interview, especially in some very tricky cases when all the life event and timing seems to be against you: being fired shy of the 180 day threshold of AC-21 portability and a month and half away from your scheduled interview, and then the Covid lockdown throw in new dimension of uncertainty. In the end, I survived and got my Green Card in October 2020. I'd like to share my experience to help those who faces similar challenge and provide hope to those whose whole life seems to be against them, and shade some lights on the proper procedure to navigate through the difficulties.

Following is my story.

I graduated as PhD from a prestigious US graduate school in 2014. Prestigious as it is, my field of study wasn't aimed for easy employment outside academic sphere, and I failed to land on a job in the US under STEM OPT. I ended working in a foreign branch of a US company, aiming to return to the US one day. I got a chance to relocate to the head quarter in Connecticut in 2017 through a "promotion" under L1-B VISA. The "promotion" was, however, a very risky move, since it means leaving all my previous accomplishment behind and start a new. In my company, it translates into a very high likelihood of being fired should the market go against you.