Felony Identity Theft Case

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Felony Identity Theft Case

Hi everyone, I am an international student going to a college in U.S with F-1 visa.

Recently, I have been investigated and filed a case relating to identity theft which amounts total to $4,000 and the police says it is a felony. I am still waiting on District Attorney's decision (denial or summon for arraignment).

Here is my case: I was naive enough to believe in one of my acquittance in native country that he could set up a virtual bank account for me to buy things I like but I have to pay him $50 and there will be no harm for any victims (because it is virtual). I agree just out of curiosity and want to test it out. I was careful enough to purchase only e-giftcode or online items that I never bother to use.

However, a few weeks after, police said that I will soon be reviewed by DA for the case I committed. I talked to him and partly admitted my guilt, adding that I wasn't aware that the bank account actually belongs to a real person and some of the purchases I didn't make.

Please note that: I wasn't even using any of those gift codes, I just ordered them out of curiosity. I wasn't aware that the bank account belongs to an actual victim. There were some orders that were claimed to be made from my laptop which I had no idea. Perhaps the guy hacked into my laptop and used it as a prank to put more charges on me? Would the judge believe that? I am a good student and have a clean record with good academic standing.

1. Now if the victim is in Arizona and I am in California, will the DA just drop the case?
    2. How badly will it look in your opinion for my future H1 B visa and naturalization process?
    3. How long do I have to wait until arraignment and other court dates?
    4. I already booked a ticket to travel back home this Summer, how should I change my plan?
    5. How much will a bail out cost for my case?