Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Applying for US Citizenship

Hi all,
    I'm getting ready to apply for US citizenship, but have a dilemma. Back in 01/02/2003 I was arrested and charged with Possession of Burglary Tools and Theft. I plead guilty, paid restitution, wrote a letter of apology, and went to counseling. The charges were then dismissed and there was never a conviction. Fast forward to today, 01/30/2012. I am an engineer working at a reputable company, donate money, and volunteer regularly. I have not gotten into trouble since then, heck I haven't even gotten a speeding ticket.

I talked to an Immigration lawyer and he said that this charge shouldn't affect me when applying since the event happened when I was a juvenile - about 9 years ago - and was never convicted. Restitution was about $500.

Thoughts? Any one with a similar experience?

Thanks in advance.

Petty theft

I got petty theft ticket 2 days back and scheduled for court date in 30 days. I am pregnant now and due in a week and will not be ready for scheduled date. Is there an option to post phone the date and what is the first step that I am supposed to be doing here.

Thanks

Comment

Hi...Need help with Pardon Letter

Hi,
      I need help with how to write a pardon letter. In my case, i was charged as felony for shoplifting but then with plead guilty it was stated as misdeameanor. All this happened in 2008 and would like to write a pardon letter now. Is it possible to do so?
      If so, can you let me how to write it.
      Thanks in advance

Originally posted by hiccup View Post
      Hi all,