Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Applying for GC

Hi all,

My company will sponsor my GC. I have a Masters from US + 4 yrs of exp + if i include my Research work (actual work for a company thru my university) it will be atleast 5 yrs (talked abt this to a career councellor).
    Statistically I have heard from my colleagues here that the company has changed its policy and are applying under (EB-3) even though some of them have 9 yrs exp. The Lawyers have mentioned that one can go external but the job description will be as is. so i have a feeling that the external lawyers will say the same (apply as EB-3).
    so is it good to go thru the company lawyers as they have more info or would going external be helpful? any info or this would be helpful?

Thanks,

Going externally or internally does not impact the EB category. This decision should involve evaluating the two options on an individual basis. I mean see if going internally reduces your out-of-pocket expenses (if the company pays for everything and their terms and condition for processing GC).

For GC EB category, there has been a lot of threads that say that "EB category is based on what the REAL JOB REQUIRES and NOT WHAT YOU HAVE". So if the job does not require an MS OR BS+5 yrs exp, it's going to be EB-3.

Check out H1 FAQs first!
    http://www.immihelp.com/visas/h1b/h1-visa-faq.html

Comment

Hi DMX17,

Thanks for the reply. Could you tell me how the filing works? My company lawyers are in Chicago and I work and live in Texas. So can i talk to the lawyer and request them to file at a specific center or its pretty much where they file and I have no say in it.

I know processing times can change drastically but still....

Thanks

Comment

Originally posted by asterix_thegaul
        Hi DMX17,