Mixed Insurance Banners Health Insurance for Visitors to USA

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Should I apply for I-485 while I-130 is under process?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I apply for I-485 while I-130 is under process?

Hi,
    I am a Canadian permanent resident and my wife is a US-born and raised citizen. She applied for my I-130 petition in May 2023. This application is under process. However, I do have the B1/B2 visa stamped before the I-130 petition submission around March 2023. I am currently in the USA for Christmas and going back to Canada in January. However, I want to live in the US with my family but as you know I need to go back and forth to Canada as my current status is a visitor (B1/B2).
    Here are a couple of questions I have:
    - Can I apply for I-485 while I-130 is under process and Can I (at the same time) request interim travel permission (advance parole permit) until the I-130 petition and I-485 application are approved (green card issued)?
    - For the interim travel permission (advance parole permit) is it okay to apply while I am in the USA and stay in the USA until the I-130 petition and I-485 application are approved (green card issued)?
    - Once I apply for I-485 then my B1/B2 status will stay valid or it will be dissolved i.e. if I-485 is taking longer than expected then can I still travel from Canada to the USA on B1/B2?

- Is the above approach not going to jeopardize the entire process?

Please note that my I-130 application was submitted with information that I am outside of the USA i.e. in Canada. Please let me know if you need more information.​

Originally posted by nabeeln796 View Post
    Hi,
    - Can I apply for I-485 while I-130 is under process and Can I (at the same time) request interim travel permission (advance parole permit) until the I-130 petition and I-485 application are approved (green card issued)?