Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I-140 approved but approval notice not shared by employer

Hi,

My I-140 was recently approved but am told by my employer that they cannot share the approval or even the copy of it.

If I need to switch using H1 extension or AC21
    a. Is it doable ?
    b. What are the risk associated with it.

I have my I-140 receipt and 797-c when I filed it. I considered form 824 but Nebraska is currently processing July 2007 cases.

Please advise

Thanks a lot

a. Safe to use AC21 as you have the receipt number. Hope you have everything associated with the GC filing. Would be better if you have I140 copy so that you can prove PD if needed.
    b. Risk is the I140 withdrawal by employer has resulted in USCIS wrongly denying some cases for GC even if you qualify. This would mean you would have to appeal, go through MTR etc. Get a good lawyer to draft a AC21 letter to USCIS and send it. Worth the consultation fee.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Same situation one more question

Hi Tx
      Just got my approval a few days back.
      You had mentioned I-140 withdrawal could result in some complications.
      But my I-140 is approved. Can they still withdraw it?

Also, do I need to tell them of proposed change in employment before filing for AC-21.

Thanks

Comment

Yes, they can still withdraw it.

Who are them? As long as you have a same/similar job, use of AC21 is legal and permitted. I was just outlining the risks.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Originally posted by txh1b
          Yes, they can still withdraw it.

Who are them? As long as you have a same/similar job, use of AC21 is legal and permitted. I was just outlining the risks.