Can I travel with AP but I-140 pending

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I travel with AP but I-140 pending

Please advice me if I, my wife and my son can travel on AP with I-140 pending.

my passport doesn’t have any H1B stamping from company "B" as I never went to India ever since I joined "B", i.e. the only H1B stamping I have is from my previous company "A", which is now expired.

Thanks & Regards

Yes you can but you become a parolee and would need EAD to work. If I140 gets denied, consider yourself screwed.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Thanks for info.

My wife and I have valid EAD till Oct 2010. Currently I am working on H1B which is valid till Jan 2010. My wife and son are planning to go India for vacation in Jun 2009 and planning to return USA in Aug 2009. Is it ok if only my wife and kid travel on AP? In this case, Do I need to change my status from H1B to EAD? Please advise.

Thanks & Regards

Comment

You can remain on H1b and they become parolees. But the opposite is not possible.

I am not a lawyer and you need to consult with one to validate any info posted on the forum and discuss your case specifics. H1b Question? Read the FAQ first.

Comment

Yes, you can travel using AP and still can use H1B.

I travelled using my AP (my I140 is still pending) and I did extend my H1b after I came back. Until you use your EAD, you can use your H1B with AP.

Thanks,
          Swetha

Comment

Originally posted by swetharao View Post
            Yes, you can travel using AP and still can use H1B.

I travelled using my AP (my I140 is still pending) and I did extend my H1b after I came back. Until you use your EAD, you can use your H1B with AP.

Thanks,
            Swetha
            There is more to it than this simple explanation.