Attorney fee for EB1 and EB2

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Attorney fee for EB1 and EB2

I am a university professor currently on H1B and want to apply for EB1 Green Card. I consulted with an immigration attorney to who I was referred by an old friend of 12 years.
    The attorney was very thorough and professional. I spent double the time allotted for the consultation without asking for extra money.

The paperwork for the EB1 seems to be a tremendous amount of paperwork which I plan to do with self-petition. I do not wish to ask for my employer's sponsorship because I am considering moving to a different university after I get my green card. The attorney confirmed after reviewing my CV that I qualify for both EB1 and EB2 without employer sponsorship.

Given the amount of paperwork needed to be submitted and the limited amount of time that I can spend on such an application, I decided to hire an attorney to complete and submit the application on my behalf to save myself headaches and time I do not have. The attorney asked for a retainer amount to pay half before starting working on the application and then the second half after applying. The attorney sent me an engagement letter that state all the above and also that the attorney will be responsible for following up with all the paperwork and check with the USCIS in case of a delay of any kind, and submit any further paperwork and responses that the USCIS will require in case that happens. The attorney had this in writing and sent it to me to review. Before I sign it, I want to clarify if other hired immigration attorneys paid half up front and the second half upon submitting the application? Should I ask to keep an amount after receiving an initial response from the USCIS first?. Since I was referred to the attorney by a friend, I feel more comfortable proceeding with the attorney, who seems to be very thorough, which makes me feel comfortable.

Hi,