Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Green card renewal denied for lack of Birth Certificate

Help!
    I have been a permanent resident for more than 20 years. This is my 2nd time renewal (20th year renewal). After waited for more than 6 months, I received a letter denied my renewal for lack of Birth Certificate. I am old and was born in a country where there was NO such thing as Birth Certificate when I was born more than half century ago. So what can I do now? Without an Act of God, there is no way I can obtain Birth Certificate. How can they deny my renewal for a document that was not required when they granted me Green Card more than 20 years ago and granted my first renewal more than 10 yrs ago?
    Help!

Your report of a denial was probably only a "Request for Evidence," or "Intent to Deny." All you need is secondary proof of a birth from a government office in your original country, or affidavits from government officials explaining why such documents are not available.

--Ray B

Originally posted by memy View Post
    Help!
    I have been a permanent resident for more than 20 years. This is my 2nd time renewal (20th year renewal). After waited for more than 6 months, I received a letter denied my renewal for lack of Birth Certificate. I am old and was born in a country where there was NO such thing as Birth Certificate when I was born more than half century ago. So what can I do now? Without an Act of God, there is no way I can obtain Birth Certificate. How can they deny my renewal for a document that was not required when they granted me Green Card more than 20 years ago and granted my first renewal more than 10 yrs ago?
    Help!

Comment

Originally posted by rayb View Post