H-1B Visa, Green Card, and Travel Issues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H-1B Visa, Green Card, and Travel Issues

I have a few questions regarding H-1B visa stamping, green card, H-4, and the tricky situation that I'm in with respect to all these. Forgive the long post to follow, but I think the background is necessary to illuminate the case.

I graduated in the spring of 2008 with a master's in mechanical engineering, and soon after started working on OPT for an engineering services company in Dearborn, MI. The company applied for my H-1B in 2010, which came into effect on 22NOV2010, and is valid through 21NOV2013.

I was flagged for administrative processing (221g pink slip) while in Chennai in 2011 for my first visa stamping, but luckily, it came through in about 3 weeks. I suspect that I was chosen for a TAL check, because the visa officer asked for my resume, and there's an aerospace project in my history. Maybe I should remove that from my resume.

Anyway, the visa issue date is 28FEB2011 and the expiration date is 23FEB2013. Hence, the travel allowance on my H-1B visa has expired, although the petition is valid until 21NOV2013. Therefore, I cannot be admitted back into the country if I were to travel outside of it until my visa extension - which my company has applied for - has come through, and I have the new visa stamped in my passport.

I stupidly misunderstood the difference between the visa expiration date (23FEB2013) and petition expiration date (21NOV2013), and traveled to India last month to get engaged to a girl I'd been talking to for a while. I was skewered at immigration at the port of entry for this, but was offered a visa waiver, an I-193, which I gladly took to get back into the US.