Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• H1B visa reentry

Hi.

A little background about me: I have a Phd from the university of michigan in bioinformatics (It qualifies for STEM) and lived in the US for 7 years (5 years on F1 (2006-2011) and 2 years on H1 (2011-2013)).

I currently have a H1B visa valid till Dec 31 2014. However I quit my job Jul 2013 and went back to my home country due to personal reasons. Now I want to go back to the US to work again. But i am not sure if I have to use my old petition (is it still valid) or have to apply for a new petition. Also if i have to attend interviews in person, what would be the best way to go about? Do i have apply for a B2? If yes, do i mention about the interviews to the consular officer or just say i am visiting my sister (who lives there). And if i do get an offer, what would be the best way to go about for a H1.

Any help regarding this would be highly appreciated.

Thanks
    Arun

Hello, Arun83.

I am not much aware of STEM. But, as regards H1B, what i understand is one can revive the H1B (where H1B stay not fully utilized) for upto 6 years from the time H1B status was last held by the petitioner, which in your case was held till 2013. So, you are, from what i understand, eligible for reviving your H1B any time till 2019.