No announcement yet.

Applying for H1b without going to home county; travelling without H1b stamped

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Applying for H1b without going to home county; travelling without H1b stamped

Dear all,

I am in a bit of a pickle in regards to the visa issue. I am a doctor currently in the process of getting a medical residency here in the US. My citizenship is Pakistan and I am currently on B1/B2 visa, and my visa expires on March 21st, 2015. I am going to be applying for hospital programs that sponsor H1b, and hopefully I'll get it. Unfortunately, the so called 'Match' day where I get to know which hospital I'll be working is also 21st of March, 2015 i.e the last day of my visa is the same as my date to get a definitive answer of where I matched. With that much of background, here are the issues I am facing. I promise I won't take much of your time.

1. As I know, I cannot get the H1b stamped within the US. I can stay there on a legal status, but then I'll be stuck (residency is around 3 years) and won't be able to travel outside. I desperately will need to travel somewhere in the next year for personal reasons. I have heard that travelling to Pakistan to get it stamped is a bit risky, since they may deny the visa. How true is this? You have all seen the recent news, and I don't know if the US consulate in Pakistan may deny the visa for any reason or put it to processing and I miss the deadline to start residency.

2. Is there any way I can get my passport stamped anywhere else like Canada/Mexico?

3. If I opt to stay in the USA, can I get any sort of document that will allow me travel and return to US even though my passport isn't stamped?