No announcement yet.

221(g) Green Slip for H-1B Visa: No Confirmation Email on Document Submission

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 221(g) Green Slip for H-1B Visa: No Confirmation Email on Document Submission

Hi All,

I work for a search applications company (like Google, for example). Most of my job involves natural language processing and/or machine learning. My background is as follows:

Highest degree: Masters
    Field: Mechanical Engineering, major in Robotics/ML
    University: Carnegie Mellon University
    Graduation: December, 2012

Here are the details of my interview:

Interview date: January 6th, 2015
    Interview time: 10.00 AM
    Interview location: Mumbai

VO: Good morning
    Me: Hi!

VO: Can I have your passport please
    Me: (submitted passport)

VO: Can I have the I-797 too please
    Me: (submitted I-797)

VO: Where do you work?
    Me: I work at XYZ

VO: What is your highest degree?
    Me: Masters

VO: In what field?
    Me: Mechanical Engineering, with majors in Machine Learning and Robotics

VO: (typing something by now...for about 5 seconds)

VO: What do you work on at XYZ?
    Me: I work on handling large amounts of data, and natural language processing of text

VO: What was your research on, during your Masters?
    Me: (explained research)

VO: (some more typing)

VO: What is your salary at XYZ?
    Me: It's $PQR.

VO: Okay, here are your documents back...We'll need some more documents from you, please submit them as soon as possible. You don't need to come to the Consulate again, we'll contact you if we need your passport. (hands me over my docs and a green page). I'm sorry for the wait!(she says this with a slight smile, as if apologizing)
    Me: Thank you